Words that make me want to puke

I have noticed, particularly among people who read frequently, that there are always words that seem to skeeve a person out. Here are mine.

1. Moist. There are so many people who hate this word, and I get it. It’s gross. I think it has something to do with the vowel sound followed by the ‘st.’ The word SOUNDS moist.

2. Pulp. I hate how the word is half p’s. It sounds harsh and people often spit on accident when they try to say it.

3. Slacks. This is just a creepy words. Why not just say pants?

4. Panties. I hated this even as a kid. There are so many better words that can be used here. Underwear is my go-to. It especially bothers me when older men and big corporations use it. I’m looking at you, Victoria’s Secret.

5. Ointment. Actual ointment is a goopy, gross mess, and the name makes it even worse. It makes me think of Hexxus from Fern Gully.

Ewww.

6. Breasts. I mostly hate this word because it is impossible to say without either sounding like you have a lisp, or glossing over the “t” sound entirely.

7. Damp. I have no idea what the problem is here, but is makes me physically shudder.

8. Irregardless. I feel like this shouldn’t even be here because it isn’t a word. The fact that it has weaseled its way into so many other reasonable, well educated people’s vocabulary is what skeeves me out here.

9. Got. I hate even looking at this word. I proofread all my writing to make sure I use this word as infrequently as possible. In fact, I just did a search of my blog and there are no “gots” lying about.

10. Hunk. There is no use of this word I approve of. It’s really gross when used to describe a piece of food, and rather insulting when used to describe a person. I have a special hatred of the word “hunky” as well.

There you have it. What are yours?

 

 

8 comments on “Words that make me want to puke

  1. chellesh0ck says:

    YOU FORGOT “WOMB”
    EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW.

  2. Becci says:

    Now…don’t get your panties in a knot, but irregardless of all your reading habits, you obviously are not in to romance novels.
    You have got to try one!
    From the start..always the idea of a hunk covered in moist damp sweat groping the breasts of some woman. Seems that throughout the entire book the intention is to remove her slacks.
    I’m not one to indulge in these novels, but I may if there could be a happy ending involving breakfast..a little eggs, toast and of course pulp-free orange juice.
    Anyway, if you choose to start reading these, I’m confident that you will not be infected with anything a little ointment won’t cure!!
    Happy reading 🙂

  3. Chores. Definitely chores. It’s like pulling squeaky cotton through my teeth when I hear it. *full body shudder*

  4. marsanderson says:

    I HATE THE WORD PANTIES SO MUCH. And “fixin(‘s)”, and “slurp”, and basically any word that relates to bodily noises.

Leave a Reply

