I don’t know what to say about this one

I know that this will be useful to maybe three other people in the whole world, but I so desperately want those three other people to do this, that I thought I would help them out.

This is a dog wig tutorial.

It’s really easy, and reasonably functional, so long as your dog doesn’t mind wearing a wig. And honestly, if your dog does mind, please do me a favor and just skip this one. It’s not worth freaking out a poor animal for your amusement. Maybe test the waters with a tissue on their head or something.

Anyway, luckily for me, I happen to have my beardy, doggy sidekick that loves whatever I give her, and pranced around happily with hers.

What you will need is:

a piece of felt which is the approximate color of the dog in question

scissors

either yarn or wool or whatever you want the hair to be made of. Yarn is easiest.

tape

a book that is about the length you want the hair to be on each side

either a sewing machine or glue of some kind (you could sew by hand also)

velcro or elastic. I use velcro because I am afraid the elastic would be too tight and uncomfortable.

1. You need to determine how big of a head your dog has. Measure between their ears.

2. Find something circular that has the same circumference as what you just measured. Alternately, if you are a pro at drawing circles, just draw a circle on your felt with this circumference.

3. Trace and cut out your circle onto your felt. Get as close to the edge of the square as possible, to prevent waste and to save enough felt for the chin strap.

4. Take the book and your yarn and tape the yarn to the book.

 

5. Wrap the yarn around the book tightly. There needs to not be space between the strands. Wrap until you have enough yarn to cover your circle of felt.

6. Cut your yarn somewhere, anywhere, all the way across. Try to cut as straight as you can, but don’t stress about getting it perfect. This is for a dog, remember.

7. You’ll be left with strands that are about twice as long as the length you want on either side.

8. Arrange your yarn on the circle of felt. You can pin it, or not, it just depends on how precise you want things to be.

9. Sew or glue the yarn in place. I sew right down the middle, so that it looks like a center part, but you can do this however you want, just as long as things are secure. You’ll end up with something like this:

10.  Now, measure around the dog’s head, in front of their ears. Cut two strips from the felt that are half that measurement, plus about half an inch. If you are using elastic, add an inch to your measurement, and then sew/glue it on to both sides of the circle.

11. Sew or glue the strips onto either side of the circle. Where you place them on the circle depends on how the dog’s head is shaped, but it should be somewhat near the middle.

12. Cut velcro if you are using felt, and sew it on. Otherwise, you can just tie the felt.

BAM.

DOG WIG.

3 comments on “I don’t know what to say about this one

  1. eclecticlamb says:

    I am not one of the three in the world but this is awesome!

  2. I laughed the whole time I was reading this. I have 3 dogs. It’s 12:30 am, but I don’t know if I’m going to be able to go to sleep knowing I could be making dog wigs instead. I. Love. This.

Leave a Reply

