I have some good news…

If you are feeling hyper today, that does not mean that you “are ADD.”

If you are feeling moody today, that does not mean that you are bipolar.

If you are organized, that does not mean that you “are OCD.”

Saying that you “are so OCD about your CD collection” doesn’t make any sense, and neither does saying that you “are ADD.” You are not Obsessive Compulsive Disorder about something, and you are not Attention Deficit Disorder about something. Disorders are things that you have. Saying that someone “is OCD” about something, because they alphabetize their books or something,  is insulting. The same thing applies to saying you “are ADD” because you are feeling distracted today, and so on. While those things may be symptoms or components of what characterizes a person with a particular disorder, they by no means are enough on their own to warrant a diagnosis.

Look at my color coded sticky notes! I clearly have a debilitating mental disorder!

People with mental illness can’t just have it one day and then not have it the next. Their lives are not just effected in small, insignificant ways. They can’t choose to turn their symptoms on and off. To truly be diagnosed with a disorder, it must interfere with a person’s every day life. Minimizing the struggle that so many people go through, in order to seem quirky or deep or whatever, is not okay. You wouldn’t tell someone that you “are TB” today because you had a bit of cough, so why reference equally serious illnesses in such an asinine manner?

5 comments on “I have some good news…

  1. chellesh0ck says:

    THANK YOU
    This is part of The Story Topper’s worst crime spree. “I am insomniac” (read: didn’t sleep well because ate Macdonalds for dinner)
    or “I am the most OCD person I know because my stereo volume HAS to be on an even number”
    SHUT THE FUCK UP YOU’RE NOT SPECIAL.
    I love you.

    • sicklyjoye says:

      Yeah, I guess I didn’t get the memo that certain disorders are cool to have now. I better go make sure all my DVDs are in order by the date they were released so I can hop on the bandwagon too.

      • chellesh0ck says:

        I’m sorry i can’t read your reply because it had an odd amount of lines in it.
        I’m just so QUIRKY and AWKWARD, all the boys love meeee
        – From Zooey Deschanel.

  2. emeeekay says:

    Aaaaaaaand, I love you.

Leave a Reply

