Getting Jiggy With It

Since it is Father’s Day, I thought I would write a little something about my Dad.

I’ve been a Daddy’s girl from day one. When I was born, I weighed 6 pounds and 4 ounces. My dad is 6 feet and 4 inches tall. The time of my birth, 3:22 in the afternoon, was my dad’s employee number at the time. My dad and I have the same initials. I’ve been told that he was one of the only people that could make me stop fussing when i was just a sickly little thing.

Some people can be intimidated by my dad, because he is so tall and very strong. But everyone that knows him knows that he is really just like a big teddy bear. 

He knows lots of things about a lot of interesting subjects. He taught me how to camp and how to fish, and to be easy going. He can be very silly, and I think I owe it to him that I do things like sing songs about brushing my teeth, or about my dogs.

He is very good at inventing characters, and my very favorite one was Nanook, my stuffed dog that helped him slay the spiders I was still am terrified of. 

He embarrassed me on purpose during my awkward adolescent years, usually by doing some John Travolta-esque disco moves and proclaiming that he was indeed, “Getting Jiggy with it.”

He is one of my very favorite people, and I hope he has a great day.

Image

Image

2 comments on “Getting Jiggy With It

  1. Kristina Summers says:

    Your dad is indeed a very special person! I so enjoyed the times that you, Josh, your dad and I had together! Getting pizza at Godfathers, watching movies at my house, and one of my personal favorites, getting your Easter dress one year! We had so much fun looking all around for just the perfect dress! Your dad never complained, he just let us keep looking! He is a wonderful guy! I feel very honored to have him as a friend of mine!

Leave a Reply

