You can’t solve mental health issues with fruit, I promise.

I was going to write a whole well thought out post about this, but thinking about it made me froth with rage, so I will just post the conversation Peter and I had after I read a comment someone made about exercise being a better treatment for depression than medication is.

[6/21/2013 1:26:26 AM] Peter: hmmm that’s not really helpful. When you’re all depressed and shit the last thing you want to do is get up and run 4 miles
[6/21/2013 1:26:59 AM] Emily: Even if you did, the rush of hormones you get from exercise is not even nearly consistent enough to battle a major depression. It might help for a bit, and it’s awesome to add on top of medication or counseling or both, but just going out and getting your jog on is not going to fix your shit
[6/21/2013 1:31:22 AM] Peter: Yeah. Though I fucking hated that medicine
[6/21/2013 1:31:50 AM] Emily: I think if you needed to stay on it, trying a different brand would have been helpful. There’s tons of different medications, and they all react to bodies differently. OR ongoing counseling could have been a good option. I just really don’t think “exercise is a better medicine than medicine” is a sentence that anyone should ever be stupid enough to think. The next person that tells me their miracle treatment for a mental disorder is going to get punched in the head so hard, they explode.The other day, I saw something about “Cure your anxiety with watermelon!” WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT? All these years I have been bursting into tears at the thought of spending time with people, I could have just been fucking eating watermelon.

 

Maybe sometime I will be rational enough to talk about this in a more coherent way, but for right now, that sums up my feelings nicely.

Image

Don’t you feel less anxious already?

3 comments on “You can’t solve mental health issues with fruit, I promise.

  1. marsanderson says:

    YAY I FOUND YOUR BLOG!
    And this is going in my quote book: “All these years I have been bursting into tears at the thought of spending time with people, I could have just been fucking eating watermelon.”

Leave a Reply

